Africa Charity News – #NonProfitNews – Stories from #AfricanCharities #Lydia Monyepao #ComradesMarathon #SouthAfrica

Lydia Monyepao

Former South Africa Women’s International Footballer and Manager Lydia Monyepao to Run the Comrades for SOS Africa

My name in Lydia Monyepao and I grew up in a rural village called Cyferkuil (near Bela Bela). Life was not easy! In 1991 I was awarded a scholarship to study at the International School of Bophuthatswana (now South Africa) in Mafikeng until 1996. This was an opportunity of a lifetime!

With 20 international caps and 4 goals, I played for Banyana Banyana (South African Women’s Senior National Football team) from 1998 – 2004, representing the country at the 2002 & 2004 African Women’s Championship and the 2003 All Africa Games (silver medallist). I also played at the World Student Games in 2001 (Beijing, China) and 2003 (Daegu, South Korea). I managed Banyana Banyana in the 2012 London Olympics and the 2012 African Women’s Championship (silver medallists).

On 1 June 2014 I will be running my first ever Comrades Marathon (the Ultimate Human Race)….89,9km of sheer, gruesome pain! My efforts will not go to waste though. I will be raising funds for SOS Africa which funds the education and care of underprivileged African township children. My hope and dream for this race is to empower a young girl from the local rural area in Mafikeng by helping her to gain access to a good quality education not offered in rural public schools.

Please help me turn one young girl’s dream into reality: http://www.justgiving.com/Lydia-Monyepao.

Thank you for your support!

20 May 2014

Read original article here: Africa Charity News – Non-Profit News – Stories from African Charities.

Leave a Reply

