What can happen if we stand together

Via  @YouTube

[1]

In the spirit of giving and in my honest belief that acts of kindness and generosity can bring about a better world, I share this song by the group ‘’Nickelback’’. I’ve been wondering about my purpose and if what I do through my work means anything at all….I suppose many people in charity have these moments of doubt. Well, the slogan or motto I use for my foundation is ‘’Creating a Culture of Caring’’ and this, to me, implies that, through my efforts at spreading joy and bringing hope to the desperate, I will teach the beneficiaries of these acts of kindness that they should pay it forward; that giving is a natural reaction to receiving and that it is the responsibility of all to take part. I especially want to reach the children in the communities I serve, to show them that one can really do far better when you treat a person with dignity and respect, with kindness and generosity, than when you spread hatred and discourse. Children are the leaders of tomorrow and if I can somehow create within them a culture of caring for the world, for their communities, I believe that mankind will have a future of peace and love, instead one of war, famine, hatred, poverty and desperation.

I know many will think I am either totally insane, simple minded or stupidly naive about life in the modern world…..I actually think that of myself, you know. But tonight my son brought me this song. He said: ‘’Mom, you need to listen to this song, it is about the work that YOU do.’’ He quoted the part I highlighted below and told me that it really touched him. To think that a child of our times can recognize something like this, this call to make a difference, to stand together for a cause, made me realize that, yes, my efforts are SO worth while. 

Perhaps then, I am making a difference to others as well, perhaps someday we will open our eyes and understand that the future of the world is indeed our responsibility. We should stop passing the buck, drawing ignorance around us like a cloak….we should stand up for what we believe in. And I believe in the goodness of mankind, I believe we are capable of getting our act together and rise as human beings, hold hands and make a difference that will change our world forever.

Below I quote the lyrics of this song. Read it and be inspired to become part of something extraordinary.

Nickelback - When We Stand Together [OFFICIAL VIDEO] - YouTube

[I took the liberty of editing the words – leaving out the repetitive chorus. I hope the writers don’t mind this small change for the purpose of this post. You can read lyrics to the full song here.]

[2]  One more depending on a prayer
And we all look away
People pretending everywhere
It’s just another day
There’s bullets flying through the air
And they still carry on
We watch it happen over there
And then just turn it off

We must stand together
There’s no giving in
Hand in hand forever
That’s when we all win

They tell us every thing’s alright
And we just go along
How can we fall asleep at night?
When somethings clearly wrong
When we could feed a starving world
With what we throw away
But all we serve are empty words
That always taste the same

The right thing to guide us
Is right here, inside us
No one can divide us
When the light is leading on
But just like a heartbeat
The drumbeat carries on

And the drumbeat carries on

We must stand together
There’s no giving in
Hand in hand forever
That’s when we all win

 Songwriters: KROEGER, CHAD / KROEGER, MIKE / PEAKE, RYAN / MOI, JOEY

When We Stand Together lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.

SOURCES:

       [1]  Roadrunner Records. 2011. Video on YouTube: ‘’When we stand Together’’ by Nickelback. [Web:] www.youtube.com [Date of Access:]     6 April 2015

          [2]  Lyricsfreak. n.d. ‘’When we stand together’’ by Nickelback: Lyrics.  [Web:] www.lyricsfreak.com  [Date of Access:] 6 April 2015

Leave a Reply

