Easy steps to create a written #FundraisingPlan by @SandyRees

6-simple-steps-to-creating-a-written-fundraising-plan-1-638

It is the end of the year and, as a non-profit, especially a recently founded one, volunteers, team members and managers will probably be heaving a collective sigh of relief…another year done and dusted and, thank goodness, over!

Yes, running a non-profit is NOT easy; it can be fun and satisfying, but easy, NEVER! I’ve been doing this for some time and, let me tell you, I still scratch my head in confusion,

irritation and utter exhaustion every single day. But, as I’ve learned (the hard way – I’m a very stubborn control freak and always want to do things MY way and, more often than not, on my own), planning is key to success.

Thing is, whether you run a business, NPO or NGO planning is EVERYTHING and (now this can be a shock to some new NPO’s on the block) the ‘business’ year is NEVER over!

I am quite sure that all established and smooth-running NPO’s have already finished their fundraising strategies for the new year. Newsflash: this is something you should start doing in July already, although you’ll understand that, for the small-fry orgs like my own where you are one person doing EVERYTHING from social media to marketing  to thank you letters and delivery of donations, the year simply flew past and here we are, in December, no less and NO PLAN YET!

6-simple-steps-to-creating-a-written-fundraising-plan-3-638

I don’t mean to freak you out, DO keep a cool head and read this post to the end…you can thank me later.

Here we are then, nearly mid-December and I’m still tying up loose ends, sending out notes and scheduling posts so that my donors and beneficiaries don’t think I disappeared to Mars or something. Forever optimistic, I KNOW that all will be well in the end…and it will be. Have a look at what I found!

I discovered this brilliant slideshow by Sandy Rees on LinkedIn:  SlideShare. It may seem a bit dated, but the basics remain the same across the board. She goes through the process of planning your annual fundraising strategy or your once-off fundraiser  step by step, asks questions that will point you in the right direction and give ideas on how to deal with problems that may arise during the process.

She suggests these 6 steps:

6-simple-steps-to-creating-a-written-fundraising-plan-6-638

In addition she also suggests that one should look back in order to plan ahead…what happened during your last fundraiser? If it failed: what did you do wrong? What should you change?

You can find the original slideshow here. If you are stuck with your fundraising strategy, you REALLY MUST have a look at this…it is indeed a brilliant. Good luck!!!!

6-simple-steps-to-creating-a-written-fundraising-plan-2-638

SOURCE:

REES, Sandy.  2013.  6 Simple Steps to a Written Fundraising Plan.  [Web:] www.slideshare.net  [Date of Access:] December 9, 2016.

Leave a Reply

